2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial participants announced

James welling, 8183, 2016 from the series chicago, 2016-2017.
James Welling, 8183, 2016 from the series Chicago, 2016-2017 / Courtesy the Artist and David Zwirner, New York and London

Over 100 firms and artists representing countries around the world were selected by the 2017 Biennial Artistic Directors, Sharon Johnston and Mark Lee, of the Los Angeles–based firm Johnston Marklee. The participants (listed below) will present their architectural work at the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as additional sites across the city.

“This year’s list of participants was carefully chosen to showcase the future of architecture and design rooted in history,” said Todd Palmer, Executive Director of the Chicago Architecture Biennial. “Through presenting a variety of work, we aim to give visitors of all kinds, from leaders across the global architecture community to the interested traveler, an in-depth look at architecture as we know it today, and the chance to be inspired by how architecture is making new history in cities around the world.”

The Biennial’s return is based on the first edition’s success. In 2015, more than 530,000 Chicago residents and visitors took part in CAB, which—as the largest international exhibition of contemporary architecture ever to have taken place in North America—was unprecedented, featuring the ideas of more than 100 architecture and design firms from more than 30 countries. Based on the diverse representation of today’s lineup announcement, as well as the recent announcement of CAB’s new artistic leadership team, the second edition is poised to build on the success of the first. The Chicago Cultural Center, operated by Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, will once again serve as the anchor of the exhibition, with additional sites across the city.

The opening of the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial will align with the sixth annual EXPO CHICAGO, the International Exposition of Contemporary and Modern Art, which will run September 13–17, 2017 at Navy Pier.

2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial Participants

  • 51N4E (Brussels, Belgium; Tirana, Albania)
  • 6A Architects (London, UK)
  • Ábalos+Sentkiewicz (Madrid, Spain; Cambridge, USA; Shanghai, China)
  • Adamo-Faiden (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
  • AGENdA agencia de arquitectura (Medellin, Colombia)
  • Aires Mateus (Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Ana Prvački and SO-IL (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
  • Andrew Kovacs (Los Angeles, USA)
  • Angela Deuber Architect (Chur, Switzerland)
  • Ania Jaworska (Chicago, USA)
  • ArandaLasch and Terrol Dew Johnson (New York, USA; Tucson, USA)
  • Archi-Union (Shanghai, China)
  • Architecten de Vylder Vinck Taillieu (Ghent, Belgium)
  • Arno Brandlhuber and Christopher Roth (Berlin, Germany)
  • Atelier Manferdini (Venice, USA)
  • AWP office for territorial reconfiguration (Paris, France; London, UK)
Poissy galore - insects museum
Poissy Galore – Insects Museum by AWP / © Julien Lanoo
  • Bak Gordon Arquitectos (Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Barbas Lopes (Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Barkow Leibinger (Berlin, Germany)
  • baukuh (Milan, Italy)
  • Besler & Sons LLC (Los Angeles, USA)
  • BLESS (Berlin, Germany)
  • Caruso St John (London, UK)
  • Charlap Hyman & Herrero (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
  • Charles Waldheim (Cambridge, USA)
  • Christ & Gantenbein (Basel, Switzerland)
  • Daniel Everett (Chicago, USA; Salt Lake City, USA)
  • David Schalliol (Chicago, USA)
  • Dellekamp Arquitectos (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • Design With Company (Chicago, USA)
  • Diego Arraigada Arquitectos (Rosario, Argentina)
  • DOGMA (Brussels, Belgium)
  • DRDH (London, UK)
  • ENSAMBLE STUDIO (Madrid, Spain; Boston, USA)
  • Éric Lapierre Architecture (Paris, France)
  • Estudio Barozzi Veiga (Barcelona, Spain)
  • fala atelier (Porto, Portugal)
  • Filip Dujardin (Ghent, Belgium)
Bremer landesbank, bremen by caruso st john architects
Bremer Landesbank, Bremen by Caruso St John Architects
  • Fiona Connor and Erin Besler (Los Angeles, USA; Auckland, New Zealand)
  • First Office (Los Angeles, USA)
  • formlessfinder (New York, USA)
  • Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • Gerard and Kelly (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
  • Go Hasegawa (Tokyo, Japan)
  • HHF Architects (Basel, Switzerland)
  • Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (Chicago, USA)
  • J. MAYER H. und Partner, Architekten and Philip Ursprung (Berlin, Germany)
  • James Welling (New York, USA)
  • Jesús Vassallo (Houston, USA)
  • Jorge Otero-Pailos (New York, USA)
  • June14 Meyer-Grohbrügge & Chermayeff (New York, USA; Berlin, Germany)
  • Karamuk * Kuo Architects (New York, USA; Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Keith Krumwiede (New York, USA)
  • Kéré Architecture (Berlin, Germany)
  • Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)
  • Luisa Lambri (Milan, Italy)
  • Lütjens Padmanabhan Architekten (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Made In (Geneva, Switzerland; Zurich, Switzerland)
  • MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)
  • Marianne Mueller (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Marshall Brown (Chicago, USA)
  • MG&Co. (Houston, USA)
  • MONADNOCK (Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
  • MOS (New York, USA)
Lichtstrasse, switzerland / hhf architects
Lichtstrasse, Switzerland / HHF Architects
  • Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA; New York, USA)
  • Nuno brandåo costa arquitectos Ida (Porto, Portugal)
  • OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium)
  • PASCAL FLAMMER (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Patrick Braouezec (Paris, France)
  • Paul Andersen and Paul Preissner (Chicago, USA; Denver, USA)
  • Pezo Von Ellrichshausen (Concepción, Chile)
  • Philipp Schaerer (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • REAL Foundation (London, UK)
  • Robert Somol (Chicago, USA)
  • SADAR+VUGA (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Sam Jacob Studio (London, UK)
  • SAMI-arquitectos (Setubal, Portugal)
  • SANAA (Tokyo, Japan)
  • Sauter von Moos (Basel, Switzerland)
  • Sergison Bates (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Serie Architects (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
  • SHINGO MASUDA+KATSUHISA OTSUBO Architects (Tokyo, Japan)
  • Stan Allen Architect (New York, USA)
  • Studio Anne Holtrop (Muharraq, Bahrain; Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Studiomumbai (Mumbai, India)
  • Sylvia Lavin (Los Angeles, USA)
  • T+E+A+M (Ann Arbor, USA)
  • Tatiana Bilbao Estudio (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • Tham & Videgård Arkitekter (Stockholm, Sweden)
  • The Empire (Verona, Italy)
  • The Living (New York, USA)
  • The Los Angeles Design Group (Los Angeles, USA)
  • Thomas Baecker Bettina Kraus (Berlin, Germany)
  • Tigerman McCurry Architects (Chicago, USA)
  • Toshiko Mori Architect (New York, USA)
  • UrbanLab (Chicago, USA; Los Angeles, USA)
  • Urbanus (Shenzhen, China; Beijing, China)
  • Veronika Kellndorfer (Berlin, Germany)
  • Work Architecture Company (New York, USA)
  • Zago Architecture (Los Angeles, USA)
  • ZAO/standardarchitecture (Shanghai, China)
For more information visit chicagoarchitecturebiennial.org
Aline Chahine
Aline is an international licensed architect currently practicing in Canada, she is the reason you are reading this right now, Aline founded the platform back in 2008 shaping the very foundation of Architecture Lab, her exemplary content curation process that defines the online magazine today.

Leave a Comment