Call for Entries: AIANY COTE Awards 2016

Call for entries: aiany cote awards 2016

The AIANY Committee on the Environment Awards recognizes results-oriented achievements in the urban context. Winning submissions demonstrate processes that culminate in beautiful, timeless, and measurable design.

The awards will further sustainable design in the architectural profession, make transparent lessons learned, and reveal the process behind true innovation in an urban context.

Established in 2014 by the AIA New York Committee on the Environment, the program seeks to redefine how design excellence is evaluated. By honoring innovative projects, we provide a collective resource to all firms looking to achieve socially and environmentally responsible design.

Connecting the individual experience to a greater context and purpose has always been the role of architecture. Climate change, political stability, energy and water independence, and human health are all responsibilities of the design community. These challenges present new opportunities to enrich the profession – to generate positive impact in the world we build. The AIANY COTE Awards recognize design that brings us closer to solving critical issues facing our communities as achieving the highest level of intention possible in the field of architecture.

We are called to be architects of the future, not its victims. [The challenge is] to make the world work for 100% of humanity in the shortest possible time, with spontaneous cooperation and without ecological damage or disadvantage of anyone.

– Buckminster Fuller


  • James Barnes, Partner, Foster + Partners
  • Fiona Cousins, Principal, New York Office, Arup
  • Joann Gonchar, Senior Editor, Architectural Record
  • John H. Lee, Deputy Director for Buildings & Energy Efficiency, NYC Mayor’s Office of Sustainability
  • Timothy McDonald, President, Onion Flats


All submissions must be received by 5:00pm (EST) on Friday, September 16, 2016. The submission deadline will be strictly observed; no exceptions will be made. Winners will be announced Monday, October 24, 2016 and will be asked to present their projects at the Center for Architecture at 6:00pm on Tuesday, November 1, 2016.


All projects must be located within an L4, L5 or L6 transect as defined by the Living Building Challenge and within 200 miles of Central Park, as the crow flies. Architects licensed in the U.S. are invited to submit regardless of project size, budget, style, or building type. Entries are welcome and encouraged from both established and new practitioners.

Projects must be built and completed after January 1, 2010 and for at least three months prior to the submission deadline. “Completion” is synonymous with “substantial completion,” as defined in the standard AIA documents governing construction. It is strongly encouraged that projects include a minimum of one (1) year of operational performance data (energy and water).

The entry is to be submitted by the architect (design architect or architect of record).

The submitting architect may qualify as a member of a design team, whether or not serving as the head of the team. When one architect is not the sole author, all other participants contributing substantially to the design of the project must be given credit in the submission, regardless of professional discipline. Project authorship must remain anonymous during jury deliberations. If authorship is revealed on any submission materials – images, plans, or narrative – the entry will be disqualified. A project that credits any 2016 AIANY COTE Awards jury member or their firm as architect, associate architect, consultant, or client is ineligible and will be disqualified if submitted.

Entries from firms that have signed onto the AIA 2030 Commitment will be favorably weighted in the judging. Firms can sign onto the AIA 2030 Commitment via the following link.


Up to three winners will be announced, with honorable mentions awarded at the discretion of the jury. The awarded projects will receive significant recognition, including acknowledgement in AIANY publications and electronic media. Recipients will be asked to give a short presentation about their project at the Center for Architecture on November 1, 2016. Recipients may be asked by the AIANY communications department or by various media representatives for additional information about their projects. All submitted materials will become property of AIANY.

For more information, visit AIANY COTE Awards
Aline Chahine
Aline is an international licensed architect currently practicing in Canada, she is the reason you are reading this right now, Aline founded the platform back in 2008 shaping the very foundation of Architecture Lab, her exemplary content curation process that defines the online magazine today.

Leave a Comment