Winners of 2016 AZ Awards announced

Winners of 2016 az awards announced

Elite players from the international architecture and design community, some from as far away as Belgium and China, came together on June 17 at Toronto’s historic Evergreen Brick Works as Azure revealed the winners of its sixth annual AZ Awards.

From a concrete and weathered-steel temple in Toronto that features the longest cantilever in North America to a landscape that offers floodwater relief and green space to a city in Spain, the 18 winners of the 2016 AZ Awards exemplify innovation and forward-thinking. Tonight at Toronto’s Evergreen Brick Works, many of the winners were present — some visiting from as far away as India and Shanghai — to take the stage and receive their trophies, which were designed by Vancouver designer Omer Arbel, who was also a member of this year’s jury. The standing-room-only crowd of design and architecture insiders fêted all 66 of this year’s finalists during the celebration.

Together, the outstanding 826 submissions — from designers, architects and manufacturers, as well as students — are a worldwide representation of the best and brightest from the architecture and design community. The international jury was also made up of some of the industry’s heavy-hitters: architect Chris Wilkinson of WilkinsonEyre (London, U.K.), interior designer Anna Simone of Cecconi Simone (Toronto, Canada), landscape architect Thomas L. Woltz of Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects (Charlottesville, U.S.), architect John Tong of +tongtong (Toronto, Canada), and Omer Arbel of Bocci (Vancouver, Canada).

In March, this distinguished panel gathered in Toronto to narrow down the 826 entries from 52 countries to a shortlist of 66 finalists. From there, they selected the 18 extraordinary winners that were honoured tonight, and who are featured below.

All winners and finalists were featured in the Annual Awards Issue, on newsstands June 20 in Canada and June 29 in the U.S.

Architecture Winners

Best Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres

Vegas altas congress centre and auditorium, villanueva de la serena, spain
Pancorbo + De Villar + Chacón + Martin Robles: Vegas Altas Congress Centre and Auditorium, Villanueva de la Serena, Spain

Best Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres

Shim-sutcliffe architects: wong dai sin temple, toronto, canada
Shim-Sutcliffe Architects: Wong Dai Sin Temple, Toronto, Canada

Best Residential Architecture

Tropical space: termitary house, da nang, vietnam
Tropical Space: Termitary House, Da Nang, Vietnam

Best Temporary Architecture

Lateral office and cs design: impulse, montreal, canada
Lateral Office and CS Design: Impulse, Montreal, Canada

Best Landscape Architecture

Aldayjover architecture and landscape: aranzadi park, pamplona, spain
Aldayjover Architecture and Landscape: Aranzadi Park, Pamplona, Spain

Interior Winners

Best Residential Interior

Studio mk27: sp-penthouse, são paulo, brazil
Studio MK27: SP-Penthouse, São Paulo, Brazil

Best Commercial Interior

Neri&hu design and research office: comme moi, shanghai, china
Neri&Hu Design and Research Office: Comme Moi, Shanghai, China

Design Winners

Best Architectural Product

Anyway doors: pivoting room divider, by koen dries and rudi dries, with marieke cools
Anyway Doors: Pivoting Room Divider, by Koen Dries and Rudi Dries, with Marieke Cools

Best Furniture Design

Moss & lam: w1 tables
Moss & Lam: W1 Tables

Best Furniture System

Rimadesio: cover freestanding, by giuseppe bavuso
Rimadesio: Cover Freestanding, by Giuseppe Bavuso

Best Lighting Fixture

Davide groppi: fosbury
Davide Groppi: Fosbury

Best Lighting Installation

Partisans: gweilo light
Partisans: Gweilo Light

Best Interior Product

Agape: ell sink, by benedini associati, diego cisi and andrés jost
Agape: Ell sink, by Benedini Associati, Diego Cisi and Andrés Jost

Concept Winners

Best Unbuilt Concept

Sanjay puri architects: reservoir
Sanjay Puri Architects: Reservoir

Best Concept Prototype

Mackay-lyons sweetapple architects: enough house
MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects: Enough House

Student A+ Award

Jurgis gecys (academy of fine arts vienna, austria): curonian spit
Jurgis Gecys (Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, Austria): Curonian Spit

Social Good Award

Iredale pedersen hook architects: walumba elders centre, warmun, australia
Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects: Walumba Elders Centre, Warmun, Australia

Environmental Leadership Award

Zgf architects: stanford university central energy facility, palo alto, u. S.
ZGF Architects: Stanford University Central Energy Facility, Palo Alto, U.S.
Aline Chahine
Aline is an international licensed architect currently practicing in Canada, she is the reason you are reading this right now, Aline founded the platform back in 2008 shaping the very foundation of Architecture Lab, her exemplary content curation process that defines the online magazine today.

Leave a Comment